Skip to main content

Meet the Editors

Jill Becker, Editor-in-ChiefJill Becker, Editor-in-Chief

Dr. Becker is the Patricia Y. Gurin Collegiate Professor of Psychology and Research Professor in the Michigan Neuroscience Institute, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. 

Dr. Becker is a Past-President of the Organization for the Study of Sex Differences. Dr. Becker has been investigating sex differences and the influence of ovarian hormones on brain and behavior her entire scientific career.  Her research and outreach efforts promote the study of the biology of sex differences.

Arthur P Arnold, Founding Editor

Arthur Arnold is a Distinguished Professor of Integrative Biology and Physiology, and Director of the Laboratory of Neuroendocrinology of the Brain Research Institute, at the University of California, Los Angeles. "Sex differences occur in many tissues and diseases. Biology of Sex Differences serves as a forum for discussion of the forces that make females and males different, and the downstream pathways that are affected by sex-specific forces. This information will be critical for discovery of factors, often more prevalent in one sex than the other, that alleviate disease."

Meet the Associate Editors

New Content Item

Licy L. Yanes Cardozo, Associate Editor

Licy L. Yanes Cardozo, MD, is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Cell and Molecular Biology and Medicine/Endocrinology at the University of Mississippi Medical Center (UMMC). She received her Medical Degree at the National University of Asuncion (Paraguay) and performed the residency in Internal Medicine at the same institution. Later on, she performed postdoctoral studies studying the mechanisms by which androgens regulate blood pressure under the mentorship of Dr. Jane Reckelhoff at the Department of Physiology at UMMC. After she rose to the academic rank of Assistant Professor in Physiology, she joined the department of Medicine, where she completed the residency in Internal Medicine and fellowship in Endocrinology.  Currently, she is a physician-scientist engaged in basic research and clinical research. Her research focus on the elucidation of the role and mechanism by which androgen excess mediates cardiovascular and metabolic diseases in women including polycystic ovary syndrome, anabolic steroids abuse and transgender subjects.

New Content Item

Rebecca L Cunningham, Associate Editor

Dr. Cunningham, PhD, is a Professor and Associate Dean for Research in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of North Texas Health Science Center. Throughout her scientific career, Dr. Cunningham has investigated the impact of sex on CNS function and physiology. Her research program is focused on the neurobiology of steroid sex hormones (e.g., testosterone, estradiol), neuropeptides (e.g., angiotensin), and oxidative stress mediated mechanisms and its influences on mediating sex differences in aging and neurodegenerative diseases (e.g., Alzheimer’s disease).